Tags

, ,

My husband’s birthday is coming up, and I wanted to do something nice for him, so I decided to make him a picture with a quote I found on Pinterest. (I love Pinterest!!!) I tried to find the website that it was originally pinned from, but the page could not be found.

Anyhoo, I just love, love, love this quote, and I knew it would be perfect for us since we have two boys, and two girls.  And, besides, my husband loves home-made gifts, or at least that is what he tells me! 😉

Here’s what I did…

First, I found the perfect scrapbook paper for my picture. (I just loved the rustic feel of this paper with the old tools, and worn, weathered wood.)  I used a 12 x 12 size sheet.

Then, I found some stretched canvas at Wal-Mart (My favorite place!). It was 7×14.  Since the stretched canvas was bigger than my scrapbook page, I painted the canvas a dark gray to match the tools. (I know it looks black in this picture.)

While I was waiting for the canvas to dry, I printed out my quote, marking my paper before I printed, so I would know which way to put it back in the printer…

I wanted the quote to look like it was printed on the scrapbook page, so I re-printed the quote on tissue paper.  I did this by placing the tissue paper over the quote, I had first printed out, and taping the sides like this…

(I know, it’s hard to see the tape in this picture.)

Making sure to tape down all sides of the tissue paper, I sent this page back through the printer.  When it came out, it looked something like this…

I wasn’t sure how much of the tissue paper would show and, I wanted it to look a little rustic, and worn, like the background paper, so I tore the edges.

Next, I ModPodged (is that a word?) the scrapbook paper to the canvas, making sure to center the paper on the canvas.

Since I was going to be setting this picture on an easel, I wanted the back of the picture to look somewhat finished, so I wrapped the paper around the back, like this…

Now, it was on to the quote.  I centered and marked where I wanted the quote to go on the picture, so I would know where to ModPodge it, like this…

(No, that is not a booger on my finger.)

I used just a small dot with my pencil. I was not too worried about it showing up, because the paper has a textured background, and I knew it would blend in.

I painted on the ModPodge in small sections of my specified section, and smoothed the tissue paper onto the glue. I did this until I had glued down the whole quote.

I wanted to make sure to seal the picture, so I ModPodged the whole picture once more, making sure to seal all the edges of the paper on the canvas.

The tissue paper, “melted” into the paper, leaving the background image of the paper showing through.  If you hold the picture at certain angles, you can just barely see the tissue paper, but I thought it made it look a little more rustic and it gave the picture more demention that way.

I was very pleased with how it turned out.  I thought it was cute. (Can you say that about something for a man?) I think my hubby will like it, or at least I hope so! 🙂

Have a great weekend peeps!

Linked to these parties!