Tags

, , ,

I started making my own laundry soap.

Now, if you start to think that I am a hippy-tree hugging- crunchy granola kind of mom, I’m not. We use disposable diapers at our house, and paper towels.  I’m all about filling up the land fills. (Okay, not really, but if you’re ever in Virginia Beach, you have to visit Mount Trashmore! It’s for reals people!) I do recycle… some.  Not as much as I should… But seriously, I’m about as far away from crunchy granola as you can get. (Believe me, I know some.)  😉

We have a HE (high efficiency) washer, and the cost of laundry soap is just outrageous for HE laundry soap.  The reason you have to use special soap for a HE washer is because it uses less water, and so you need less suds.

Okay, just a thought here… If you need less suds, wouldn’t that mean less ingredients to make less suds, and therefore costing less to make??  You would think.

Anywho… so I started making my own soap and I don’t think I will ever go back.  it is just too stinking cheap to make. And did I mention easy? (I’m all about easy these days!)

You only need three ingredients:

1 cup Borax
1 cup washing soda (this is different from baking soda)
1 bar of soap. (most laundry-soap-maker connoisseurs recommend Fels-Naptha or Zote for the bar of soap, but I do know that some people like to use dove, or ivory because they are a softer soap.)

Here is a picture of what to look for in the store. (’cause I had no idea.)

(If you look close, you can see on the box of Borax that it is safe for HE washers.)

You may have to go to a couple of stores to find what you need. I found all three ingredients at our Meijer.  *Wal-Mart did have the Fels-Naptha (which was cheaper than Meijer) but, it did not have the Borax or the washing soda. (Go figure, since I hardly ever shop at Meijer! I’m a Wal-Mart kind of girl, but I hope to never be on the website, People of Wal-Mart dot-com!  Just sayn’…)

*Update* Our Wal-Mart now carries all three ingredients!  One stop shopping, it’s what I’m all about! Woo-Hoo!

Here is what you do:

You need to grate your bar of soap.

I wanted to be sure that I could wash my stuff on cold, if I wanted, so I also ran the soap in the food processor until it was really fine.

Then you mix 1 cup Borax and 1 cup washing soda with the grated bar of soap and put it in a container.

Mix it all up…

and Voila! You have laundry soap!

I did 3 batches at once and put it in this 11 cup container, and only filled it half full.  The best part is you only use 1 Tbsp per load, so this will last me for a while.  Each batch does 40 plus loads.  I did the math, and that is about $.05 a load, waaaaay cheaper than store-bought soap.  Yay!

My friend Trudy is the one who got me started on making my own laundry soap, but she does the liquid kind.  Here is a liquid version of my powdered version.  I chose to do the dry, because it is waaaay easier.  Anything that calls for the use of a five gallon bucket sounds too complicated to me, but you can check it out for yourself and make your own decision.  Love ya, Trudy! 😉

Anyway, back to the landfills, got to go change a dirty diaper!

PS. Disclaimer: I have not personally visited the website, People of Wal-Mart, but I’ve been told it has pictures of the crazy people who shop there.  Um… no comments please!  😉

