Tags

, , ,

It’s always hard to know what to do with left over pumpkin after the holidays… Last night the kids wanted me to make Baked Oatmeal, and I thought a little pumpkin thrown in would taste yummy, and help me use up my pumpkin.

It turned out fabulous!!!

Pumpkin Baked Oatmeal

6 cups quick oats
1½ sticks of butter (melted)
1 cup brown sugar (You can adjust the amount of sugar to your liking. You can also use part sugar and part honey if you like.)
1 cup canned pumpkin
¾ tsp. salt
3 eggs
2 cups milk
3 tsp. baking powder
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
½ pecans, chopped (optional, but oohhh so good! :D)

Combine all ingredients together in a bowl, mix well, and pour into a 9×13 baking dish.  Cover with foil and refrigerate overnight.  In the morning bake at 350° for 20 minutes with foil off. (I mentioned before, I write the temp and the time on the foil, so my hubby knows how long to cook it in the morning. ;))

To print this recipe click Pumpkin Baked Oatmeal.

This was really yummy, and really filling, with just the right amount of pumpkin. Just look at all that pumpkin and nutty goodness…

A little dollop of whipped cream makes it even better! Just perfect for a *cold* winter’s morning… okay, it’s not been “cold”, per-say… It’s just right for a ‘coolish’ winter’s morning! How’s that?? 😀

PS. I got my inspiration from Bowl of Cherrys. She had a microwave version you should check out if you are in a hurry! 😉

Enjoy!

Linked to these parties.