Tags

, ,

I’m always sad to see the summer end.  I love the warmth of being outdoors in the summer. (Okay, I’m not going to lie…  I love that my KIDS can be outdoors in the summer! ;)) But, all good things must come to an end. Looking forward to pumpkin pie in the fall, eases my pain, some… 😉

Anyhoo, we started school at our house this week.  One thing that helps the first day go smoother is having baked oatmeal for breakfast. It helps us ease into our day, and it gives fuel to my the kid’s brains after having the summer off. (Let’s face it… All of our brains get smooshy in the summer!) Not to mention that it is easy, ’cause you make it the night before. All you do is pop it in the oven for about 20 minuets and you’re ready to go.

Baked Oatmeal (Courtesy of my good friend, Melanie Mitchell.  Thanks Mel!)

6 cups quick oats
1½ sticks of butter
1 cup brown sugar (You can adjust the amount of sugar to your liking. You can also use part sugar and part honey if you like.)
¾ tsp. salt
3 eggs
2½ cups milk
3 tsp. baking powder
2 to 3 tsp cinnamon (Depending on your taste, I use 2 tsp.)

Combine all ingredients together in a bowl, mix well, and pour into a 9×13 baking dish.  Cover with foil and refrigerate overnight.  In the morning bake at 350° for 20 minutes with foil off. (I write what temp and how long on the foil with a sharpie, so I don’t have to look it up again in the morning… okay, really, it’s so my hubby knows how long to bake it, ’cause he usually gets up before I do. :D)

To print this recipe click Baked Oatmeal.

Ahhh…So warm and yummy.  Just makes getting up, all the better! Love it!

Hope you had a great day!

