Tags

, ,

I try to only post one recipe a week, but this week I just couldn’t help myself. (I try not to give the impression that all I do is sit around and eat, and do crafts… Whether or not that’s true, is besides the point. :))

The kids and I have, kind of, been on a muffin kick over the past couple of weeks. I ran across this recipe, in one of my cookbooks, in my search for the perfect muffin. I bought it from a bed and breakfast, where we stayed, and the food they served was fabulous! I knew the cookbook would be good, and these muffins are really good. I made a few, slight, changes of my own, but you can’t go wrong with Amish-Country food, peeps! Seriously, the Amish know how to cook! For Rillz! 🙂

Banana Crumb Muffins from Amish Country  (adapted from Charm Countryview Favorites Cookbook)

1 cup brown sugar, packed

2 ripe bananas, mashed

½ cup chopped nuts

1 cup butter, divided

½ cup white sugar

2 eggs

1 ¾ cups flour

1 Tbsp cinnamon – I only used ½ Tbsp since I put some cinnamon in the topping

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

For the topping:

1 cup brown sugar, ¼ plus 2 Tbsp flour, ½ tsp cinnamon, and 3 Tbsp butter

Combine all ingredients for topping, mix until crumbly, and set aside.

In a small saucepan combine brown sugar with ½ cup butter. (I did this part in the microwave. I’m pretty sure the Amish don’t have microwaves.) Stir over medium heat until melted. Add bananas and nuts. Stir until well coated. Cool to room temperature. Cream remaining butter and white sugar. Beat in eggs. Sift together flour, cinnamon, baking powder, and baking soda. Add to creamed mixture. Stir in banana mixture. Fill greased muffin pans or liners ¾ full.  Add about a Tablespoon of crumb topping and press down into batter. Bake at 350° for 20 to 30 minutes. Cool. If making bread adjust the time to 30 to 40 minutes and cool.  yield: 1 dozen large muffins

De-lish.  The crumb topping has the perfect crunchy goodness that any crumb topping should, and the center is nice, and moist, and rich.  Yumm-Oh!

With this recipe I made 6 regular sized muffins, 8 mini muffins, two small bunt cakes, and a medium-sized loaf of bread.

Not a bad yield from one recipe, if I do say so…

Enjoy! 🙂

Have a happy weekend!

Linked to <a href=”” target=”_blank”>these parties.