Tags

, ,

So, I’ve been complaining that I don’t want summer to end.  Well, there are some things that I’m willing to trade summer for, and good fall/winter food is one of them.  Yeah, that’s right, I sell out for food!  Don’t judge me!  😉

One of my favorites amoung fall foods are caramel apples, and right up there with them is caramel apple salad.  I recieved this recipe from a friend from church (Thanks, Diana!), and it’s to die for!  Absolute yumm-ohhhh!

It’s “really healthy”.  I mean it has the word “salad” in it, right?  Salad is healthy. (My son was worried that I was going to put lettuce in this salad! :))  I think it states somewhere in the laws of nature that if the word “salad” is in the name of a food item it automatically makes said food item ~ healthy.  In fact, I’m thinking of having a Big Mac “salad” right now. Wink! Wink! 😉 (Big Macs have lettuce on them, don’t they?)

Caramel Apple Salad

6 medium apples ~ cored and chopped (I like golden delicious, but you can use what you like.)

6 Snickers candy bars (regular size) ~ chopped

1 tub whipped topping (8oz)

1 package vanilla pudding (4 serving size)

¼ cup chopped peanuts

In a large bowl mix all ingredients together. Drizzle with caramel syrup and additional chopped nuts if desired.  Store, covered, in the refrigerator.

Just look at all that autumn goodness!

I also make a sugar free, or low sugar version by omitting the Snickers, and using sugar free pudding, and light or sugar free whipped topping.  If you are trying to watch your weight, this is a good alternative to the real stuff.

Well, I’m off to enjoy my Big Mac “salad”! 😉

Have a great week everyone!

Linked to these parties!