Tags

, , ,

Since Thanksgiving is next week, (WHAT!?! *Panic mode setting in*…) I thought I would do a recipe for one of my favorite pies.  Peanut Butter!

I don’t normally add onions to my peanut butter pie, but…

I wanted to show you a cool trick that I learned from Pinterest (Love that place!). The pin came from Homemade Serenity.

Okay, maybe I’m the last person on earth to know this, (No laughing!) but… did you know that after you cut off the green stems from green onions, you can put the roots in a cup of water and they will sprout again!?!  How cool is that!?!

I added water everyday, because the onions really sucked up the water! (It could be because I used a small cup of water, I dunno…) I also changed the water once or twice during the week, and rinsed off the roots.

Here are my onions after I first cut them…

The first picture was after a weeks worth of growth.

I thought it was pretty cool, anyways! (It doesn’t take much, I know… :D)

Okay, now on to the Peanut Butter Pie!!! (No, there aren’t any onions in this recipe… promise! ;))

This is actually a combination of the peanut butter pie that my mom used to make, and one from Martha. It turned out so stinking yummy!  (How can you go wrong with Martha? I know… Right?)

Creamy Peanut Butter Pie (adapted from Martha.)

Ingredients

  • 1 3/4 cups chocolate wafer crumbs (from about 36 cookies)
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 3 tablespoons packed dark-brown sugar
  • Pinch of salt
  • 8 ounces cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1 1/3 cups smooth peanut butter
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 1 ounce semi-sweet chocolate chips, melted, for decorating

Directions

  1. Make the crust: Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Combine wafer crumbs, butter, brown sugar, and salt. Press mixture firmly into bottom and up sides of a 9-inch deep-dish pie plate. Bake until set, 8 to 10 minutes. Let cool on a wire rack. (If you want a softer crust, do not bake the crust.)
  2. Make the filling: Beat cream cheese, confectioners’ sugar, and salt with a mixer on medium speed until fluffy. Beat in peanut butter and vanilla.
  3. Whisk heavy cream until soft peaks form. Whisk 1/3rd of the whipped cream into the peanut butter mixture, then gently fold in remaining whipped cream. Spoon filling into cooled crust. Freeze, uncovered, at least 4 hours or overnight, covered with plastic wrap. (I froze mine at first, but then stored it in the frig after the pie was set.
  4. *Place melted chocolate in a resealable plastic bag. Snip tip from one corner of bag to make a very small opening. Holding bag about 5 inches above pie, drizzle melted chocolate over top. Let stand 10 minutes before slicing. Store leftovers in refrigerator.

Click Here to print this recipe.

*Here is a little tip I learned somewhere along the way…
After melting the chocolate, (I do mine in the micro at 50% power, in 30 sec intervals) place a plastic baggie in a cup and fold it down over the sides. Then spoon the chocolate into the baggie.  The cup holds the baggie open so it is easier to spoon in the melted chocolate.

Now, just snip the corner of your baggie, and drizzle away.

If you are pinched for time, you can substitute the whipping cream for an 8 oz tub of whipped topping. (I prefer the whipping cream. Just sayn’…)

So yummy!

Enjoy!

Thanksgiving is sooo close, better start thawing your turkeys! 😀

Linked to these parties.

