Tags

, ,

I have to say, I’m pretty dumb when it comes to the appliances that I own.  I mean, I know how to use them.  I can hit the start button like the best of ’em!  Yes, that’s me, the ignorant home appliance user.  When something goes wrong, I’m completely stumped.

Well, my washing machine stopped working this week.  Actually, I think there was something wrong with it for a while, but I kept ignoring the warning signs.  Why worry about it, if it’s still turning on when I hit the start button, right?

So, it stopped working, and I had no idea why.  My first thought was the homemade laundry soap that I started making.

I was sick to think that I would have to give up my new-found love! It smells so good, and the yellow granules make me happy. (Yes, I need to get out more.)

Anyway, My husband came to the rescue!  He’s the best!  Did I mention he’s an engineer?  Yeah, he can fix anything.  (Well, almost anything! 🙂)

Come to find out that there is a pump filter in my washing machine that needs to be cleaned out every once in a while.  (My washer model has a secret front panel that has 3 screws on the bottom to hold the panel on.)

(Boring picture of the inside of my washing machine.)

I knew about the filter in the dryer, but I had no idea about any filter in my washing machine! (Watch this YouTube video if you are interested in learning more about how to clean the filter in a front-load Whirlpool Duet washer.)

Here is what my hubby pulled out of the filter…

Nice...  I’ve been missing one of those socks for close to a year now (ewww!), and who knows how that pen got in there!

Anyhoo, All that to say, if your washer has been acting up lately, don’t call the repair man just yet.  Try cleaning out your filter and see what kind of lost treasures you may find. 😉

My washer is now fixed and I have a mountain of laundry to go fold.  What  a way to start the weekend!

Have a great weekend all!

