Tags

, ,

These are so comfy and super easy to make. (My new favorite skirt! For real!)  If you can sew a straight line, you can make these.  I found this idea from Sew Like My Mom, where you take a man’s large/x-large shirt and turn it into a skirt.  Um… genius!!  Hello!!

Aren’t they super cute?

All you need is a couple of men’s large t-shirts, and some elastic thread.  Seriously! (Oh, and regular thread too. Make sure to match the regular thread to the color of the shirt, because it will show on the outside.)

Okay here’s what you do:

Take your t-shirt and cut it off under the arms, like this…

Then I took that piece from the bottom of the shirt, that I just cut off, and cut it in half again so I had two pieces from the bottom of one shirt.  I used two shirts, so I had four pieces to sew together. (I realize that there are only three pieces in the picture, but I promise, I did use four!)

After you sew the pieces together, it should start to resemble a skirt. (I know this is a no brainer for some, but make sure to leave a hemmed edge for the bottom of the skirt so that your skirt will be hemmed.:))

Now you need to sew the waist.  This is the fun part.  I learned to do something new, it’s called shirring.  Shirring is where you sew two or more rows of gathers.  It looks hard, but it’s not.

Here is where your elastic thread comes in.  This is what it looks like…

It comes in black and white and I found it at Jo-Ann’s.  I could not find it at Wal-Mart. Boo! (Have I ever mentioned, I’m a Wal-Mart girl?)

So you take the elastic thread, and hand wind your bobbin, with a slight tension on the thread .  It won’t take long ’cause it is thicker than regular thread.

Now you start sewing rows around the top edge of the skirt on the outside of the skirt. (You want the elastic thread to be hidden on the inside of the skirt.)  I started the rows right next to the raw edge.  You don’t need to finish the edge off ’cause t-shirt material won’t fray.

To begin a row, sew several stitches and then back stitch to beginning and then continue to end the row and back stitch once more. (You can also hand tie off each row to keep it from unraveling, but I found that back stitching was faster and easier.)

Spread the fabric flat, without stretching it, while you sew each row.

I used the edge of the foot of my sewing machine as a guide for each new row, like this…

(This is the outside of the skirt.  The elastic thread is hidden underneath.)

I sewed about 10 rows, and I only had to re-thread my bobbin once.

After you get all the rows done, you need to spray the shirred section with water, and iron on high to draw up the fabric a little more.

And you have a new skirt!  Super cute, huh?

(The red one is for my daughter.  I used a ladies size large t-shirt to do her skirt.)

You can get creative with these. I think it would be cute to do two different colors.

If you can find a shirt long enough, you could make your skirt with one piece instead of four.

I found a really cute night gown at Wal-Mart, made out of jersey knit that would have made a cute skirt. (It was $12 so I didn’t get it ’cause you can find fabric by the yard for way cheaper.)

I will definitely be looking for longer stuff to turn into skirts so I won’t have as much to sew. (‘Cause I hate sewing, y’all!) (Yes, I have ancestors (possibly)  from the South, so I can say y’all!)

Happy Wednesday, Y’ALL! ;)

