Tags

, ,

I have a little problem… Okay, I won’t exaggerate, it’s a big problem! I have a couch with pillows. Not just a couple here and there, more like 47, or on some days it seems like 147. Like on days when my kids decide to play “jump off the couch and land on a pile of pillows”. That happens often, I might add.

The other day the kids were playing the previously mentioned game and I asked my youngest son to put the pillows back on the couch when they were finished playing.

This is what it looked like when he was finished…

This is what it is supposed to look like…

But, this is what it normally looks like…

(Yes we use this couch to fold laundry. ;))

The old pillows were looking kind of shabby, but the couch itself is still in good condition. My husband suggested that I recover the old pillows. Ha! I laughed when he first said it. “I’m not going to sew 47 pillows! I hate to sew!” I thought. “You can sew, can’t you?” he asked. “Well of course, but who wants to sew 47 pillows?” I answered. Β He said, “Okay…”, and left it at that.

UUUGGGHHHH! He had put the thought in my head! Now, every time I walked by the couch, the raggedy old pillows just screamed to be redone. So I gave in to the idea.

I ran over to Jo-ann’s just to see what they had… just to get an idea… just to look. I didn’t even bring an old pillow to match fabric! What do you know?! I found something on the clearance rack that would probably work, and it was $3 a yard! Woo hoo! It was normally $40 a yard, and it was just put out on clearance. I could not pass it up. I could buy it, and if it didn’t work, I could just bring it back. (You normally can bring fabric back, as long as you keep your receipt, and don’t cut into it.) But this was on clearance! So, I could not bring it back. Stink! Oh, well. I had to get a swatch, and then go back the next day to get the rest. Β It was definitely worth it. I also bought some accent fabric to go on the smaller pillows. I think it turned out great.

Here’s what the new couch looks like now…

I like how the accent pillows lighten it up a bit. The old pillows were so dark! It was a lot of work, but it was sooo worth it! (Did I mention that I have a love seat, and a chair that matches the couch, um, with tons of pillows? Yeah… it was A LOT of work! :))

Here is a close up of the accent fabric…

I just love it!

Okay! Okay! I’ll show you what the new couch really looks like…

But I’m on it! πŸ™‚

PS. I don’t REALLY have 47 pillows on my couch, or 147 (depending on the day). It just feels like it.

