Tags

,

I’ve got this huge oak tree in my back yard, and last year I thought I wanted to do some crafting with the acorns, when they fell.  We’ve been in this house for about 5 years and I only started thinking about using the acorns, for crafts, last year.  (I’m slow, I know… ) Anyhoo, I waited… and waited… and waited…  No acorns.  Great! I thought I had missed when they fell, and the squirrels got them.  Well, come to find out, some oaks don’t produce acorns every year, and we just happen to have such a one.  So this year I was ready!  I started looking in July.  They didn’t start falling until September. Nice. ;)

I have a few projects in mind and this is the first one…

Painted acorn necklaces!

I was going for a rustic look.  This picture makes it look like a three-year old painted them. Yes?  They look much cuter in person!  For sure!

These necklaces are pretty easy to make.

First you have to pop the caps off, like this…

Paint a base coat on the cap, one color, and paint the bottom of the acorn a different color. (I used acrylic craft paint.)  Let dry, about 30 minutes

*Update* I made some more of these acorns, and I used spray paint (indoor/outdoor RustOleum) instead of the acrylic.  (I noticed that the acrylic seemed to peel if the acorn was getting a lot of wear.)  I used semi-gloss for the base coat, and gloss for the finish coat.  After the base coat dried, I sprayed some of the gloss spray paint onto a paper plate, enough so that the paint would puddle and I could dip my paint brush (use a disposable brush, since you will not be able to clean your brush with just water) , and paint on my final coat.  I used the same dry brush method as before.  I like the finish with the spray paint much better, and I don’t even think you would need to use ModPodge if you use the spray paint.

Using a dry brush method (dab some paint on your brush and then blot off most of it), reverse the colors and paint the opposite color on top of the base coat, Like this…

Notice how the base coat is peeking through, making it look a little rustic? Or, do you still think a 3-year-old painted these?  Not sure…

Re-attach the caps to the bottom with super glue and hot glue.  Use the super glue on the inner edge of the caps, and hot glue inside the center of the caps.  The hot glue gives the cap a little cushion and holds it, while the super glue dries.

You can stop at this step if you just want to fill a vase or a bowl with painted acorns.

I was going for a necklace, so here’s what I did…

I used a bead reamer to drill holes in the top.  The reamer looks like this…

It’s used to make the hole of beads bigger.  It has a sharp end and the sides are like a nail file.

I just stuck it in the top of the acorn and screwed it back and forth until it came through the other side, like this…

(I actually held on to the acorn while I did this, but I couldn’t take a picture and hold on at the same time. ;))

After I drilled the holes I painted them with some ModPodge. I did about two coats, letting them dry for a day in between coats.  I think one coat would be enough.

Then I attached some wire to the top, and made a loop so it could go on a necklace.  (I forgot to take a picture of this step, sorry!) I used some needle nosed pliers to do this, and wound the wire around the loop to secure it.  Does that make sense?

Here is another picture of the finished product…

My favorites are the red and the teal, and rust colored ones.  My daughter and son picked out the colors for the other two.

Here’s one I did for my grandma…

I thought they turned out cute, even if they do look like a three-year old made them! :)

Have a great weekend, peeps!

Linked to these parties.

